Interesting Facts


  • Founded in 1868 at the University of Virginia
  • Composed of 207 chapters and 10 colonies in North America with over 240,000 members
  • Governed by International Convention composed of mostly undergraduate chapter delegates
  • Guided between conventions by a volunteer board of directors known as the Supreme Council
  • Publishes a quarterly magazine, the Shield & Diamond
  • Upholds one of the largest average chapter/colony size of any international fraternity
  • Has maintained the largest average chapter and pledge class size for most of the past 20 years


  • Utilizes a full-time expansion team to live and work on campus during 4-5 week colonization period
  • Provides leadership and fraternal education during on-site visits to colonies at least once per semester/quarter
  • Established 13 colonies in the past three years
  • Chartered 5 new chapters in the past two years
  • Plans for 5 colonizations in the 2005-2006 academic year


  • Provides services for over 120 alumni associations
  • Chartered 17 associations in the past two years
  • Manages the Pike Loyal Order program
  • Manages the licensing/marketing program
  • Administers the Speakers Program
  • Oversees the Shield & Diamond subscription/distribution policy


  • Holds International Convention every two years; the 2010 International Convention will be held in Austin, Texas
  • Conducts the Academy every summer during “off-convention” years to focus on chapter programming
  • Hosts a biennial Volunteer Forum for all chapter advisors, house corporation volunteers and alumni association representatives
  • Hosts an annual Chapter Executives Conference in January for presidents, treasurers and rush chairmen
  • Conducts at least 8 Leadership Summits annually at sites across North America

Famous Pikes


Tim McGraw – Country Music Superstar
Jeremy Piven – actor; Entourage
Jon Stewart – actor, Daily Show Host
Scott Van Pelt – ESPN Sportscenter Anchor
Ted Koppel – TV personality
Buddy Jewell – Country Music Star
Josh Bernstein – Explorer, Environmental educator, Discovery Channel host
Bob Losure – Former Headlines News anchor
Andrew Baldwin – The bachelor for reality show, The Bachelor
Rick Dees – Radio Personality
William Sanderson – actor; Deadwood HBO Series
Cody Hanson – drummer, Hinder
Joe Garvey – lead guitar player, Hinder
Josh Schwartz – Creator of The O.C.
Steve Covino- Radio Personality
Charlie Zorn – Two-A-Days star
Robert L. Ward – Senior Vice President and Creative Director, Universal Studios


Fred Hoiberg – NBA player, Minnesota Timberwolves
Lance Alworth – Pro Football Hall of Fame
Bobby Bowden – Head football coach, Florida State University
Matt Doherty – Head basketball coach, Southern Methodist University
Jeff Feagles – NFL player – New York Giants, University of Miami
Wes Fesler – College Football Hall of Fame
Frank Sinkwich – Heisman Trophy winner, University of Georgia
Dan Issel – Former coach and NBA player, inducted into NBA Hall of Fame
Horace Grant – NBA player, Chicago Bulls
Chris Myers – NFL player, Denver Broncos, University of Miami
Kyle Orton- NFL quarterback, Chicago Bears
Joel Rodriguez – NFL player, Tennessee Titans, University of Miami
Gino Torretta – 1992 Heisman Trophy winner, University of Miami
Eric Winston – NFL player, Houston Texans, University of Miami
Gus Frerotte – NFL player, St. Louis Rams
Dustin Colquitt – NFL player, Kansas City Chiefs
Chad Clifton – NFL player, Green Bay Packers, University of Tennessee


Bruce A. Aguilera – Vice President and General Counsel, Bellagio Hotel
Michael T. Ainslie – Former Vice President, Sotheby’s Europe
Dr. Gilbert F. Amelio – Inventor and Entrepreneur
John A. Balch – Former President of Royal Appliance Manufacturing
J. Frank Bell, III – Chairman and CEO, Intellinet
W. Todd Bowling – President, Solutions-II, Inc.
Lawrence Owen Brown – Entrepreneur, President and CEO, Owen Brown Enterprises
Nolan Bushnell – Founder of Atari and Chuck E. Cheese’s Pizza Time Theater
R. Don Cash – Chairman, President and CEO, Questar Corp.
S. Truett Cathy – Founder/CEO, Chick-Fil-A
Edward N. Cole – Former President, General Motors Corp.
Jeffrey T. Dunn – Former COO and Sr. Vice President, Coca-Cola Americas
Ike Evans – President and COO, Union Pacific Corp.
Joe T. Ford – Chairman of the Board/Director, ALLTEL Corporation
Lawrence Hariton – CFO, Universal Studios Home Video
Daniel T. Hendrix – President and CEO, Interface, Inc.
Aaron Hendry – President, Hendry Corporation
R. Craig Hoenshell* – Former Chairman and CEO, Avis, Inc.
James P. Holden – Former President and CEO, Daimler-Chrysler Corporation
Chad O. Holliday – Chairman and President, DuPont
Hjalma Johnson – Former President, American Bankers Association
Gerald Kiser – CEO, La-Z-Boy, Inc.
Powell B. McHaney – Former President, General American Life Insurance Company
John F. McNair III – Chairman, Wachovia Bank
Paul J. Orfalea – Founder, Kinko’s
Neal Patterson – Chairman of the Board, CEO and Co-Founder, Cerner Corporation
Edward A. Pease – Sr. Vice President, Government Relations, Rolls-Royce North America, Inc.
Donald T. Regan – Chairman, Merrill Lynch (retired) and Former White House Chief of Staff (Reagan administration)
Rodger Riney – Founder and CEO, Scottrade
Colonel Harland David Sanders - Founder of Kentucky Fried Chicken
Samuel K. Skinner – President, Commonwealth Edison; Fmr Secr. of Trans. and Chief of Staff - President George Bush
Jack O. Snyder – Former President, Sea World, Inc. .
Lee Talley – Former Chairman of the Board, Coca-Cola Co.
Jeff Taylor – Founder,
L. Jack Van Fossen – Former President and CEO, Red Roof Inns
Robert N. Wilson – Vice Chairman of the Board, Johnson & Johnson
Charles J. Wyly, Jr. – Chairman, Michaels Stores
Samuel E. Wyly – Vice Chairman, Michaels Stores